The Road To Dentistry & Life In The South

By Dr. Suzanne Bird

At an early age, some people know exactly what they want to be when they “grow up.” Some have their path all mapped out in high school.

I wasn’t one of those students.

When I was in college studying biomedical engineering and biomechanics, I decided to become an orthodontist. The combination of medical and engineering knowledge influenced my future career path.

I liked learning about how things are structured and how they function, especially when it comes to the human body.

The thought of improving the smiles of children, teens, and adults – for a lifetime – and giving them the tools to maintain their oral health really clicked.

I am the daughter of a General Electric employee, we moved state to state, similar to a “military brat.” Ohio, Wisconsin, Connecticut, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania to name a few. I fell in love with North Carolina in middle school, so when it came time for dental school, I became a Tar Heel.

I graduated from the University of North Carolina School of Dentistry, then obtained a master’s degree in pediatric dentistry from the Ohio State University and Columbus Children’s Hospital. I finished with a certificate in orthodontics and dentofacial orthopedics from the University of Missouri in Kansas City.

Because I want to be able to help a wide range of patients, from the youngest age possible, I’m a Board-certified pediatric dentist. I’m also a member of several dental organizations. There’s never been a time in my adult life when I wasn’t keen to learn and connect with other professionals. My favorite magazines are dental journals!

When I’m not straightening smiles at Braces by Bird, I like…

  • Painting! This activity gets my creative juices flowing and is a great stress reliever. Watercolor and acrylic paints are my media of choice.
  • Dogs. And the fluffier the better. I like the cute little ones (cocker spaniels, cockapoos… you name it!).
  • Magic shows. I always try to figure out what’s happening behind the scenes and am always first to volunteer to be on stage!

My family and I live in Waxhaw, a small town in the Charlotte suburbs. We’re close to the beach and there are great public schools for our kids. I originally chose this area because my sister (a pediatrician) and twin nephews live here. It’s nice to see family regularly without having to go far! Oh … and how could I forget the warm climate and mild winters? Flip flops and T-shirt weather is my kinda thing!